top of page
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Search
  • Writer's pictureelviraberezowsky

Postcard Story:: Postcards Read At Bedsides

I wish I could say this in person, but they won’t let me see you. Not me. Not the kids. Instead,

they told me to write you a short note for the nurse to read to you, so please try and imagine it’s

me here with you right now, holding your hand. Focus. Pretend. Because I really need you to

hear me when I say you need to fight. You need to fight to conquer this sickness because the

kids and I don’t know what we would do without you. Rachel isn’t sleeping and Jack gets angry

at the smallest things and I’m trying to teach them math and reading at the kitchen table to

distract them from missing you and being frightened for you but all I want to do is hide in the

bathroom and cry. They’ve been telling me that my jokes aren’t as funny as yours and I can’t

throw a baseball like you and now there’s a spider that’s been stuck under a jam jar in the

basement that the kids are insisting that only you can take outside because that’s your job and not

mine, and if you don’t get better and come home soon then the spider will likely die. Please have

courage and fight. And if you’ve given up fighting for yourself then please, fight for me, fight for

the kids, because we miss you and we love you and we want you to be home with us, soon.


(c) Elvira Berezowsky, 2020

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page